Bombs, Dogs, and Water

Nightmare (Prompt)

I’ve had a more than a few nightmares in my life. When I was a kid I had a very vivid one that nuclear bombs had been set off, my mom was bringing clothes in from the clothes line. She comes in and has us all cover ourselves with a sheet, and just as we do a bomb hits in our garden. I wake as the heat sears through my body at that moment of death.


Then I had a dream it’s not as vivid, but I clearly remember that my dog at the time Baby I killed her. I was devastated when I woke up because of the dream. I told mom about it, and she wouldn’t let Baby sleep in my bed for a week just because of the dream. She knew I would never intentionally hurt her, I think it was a matter of the fact that I had had such a nightmare.


I have had different types of water dreams, but the constant theme in them is a fast running current. I’m driving fast down a road and I’m usually stuck somewhere, when I need to get to another place. I have a feeling that I’m running late and I need to hurry. I have on numerous occasions ended up with my car floating down the current with me on top of the car hoping for help to come.

A great deal of the time I don’t remember my dreams, but I do wake up with a sense of dread. I’ve woke up crying before, but no idea what I was dreaming that had me crying. Not sure if anyone else has experienced these types of things, but this happens more times than not.

3 thoughts on “Bombs, Dogs, and Water”

  1. Regarding the bombs and assuming you reside(d) in the U.S., were you alive when American schools practiced those nuclear bomb drills? Get under your desk, put your head between your legs, and kiss your ass goodbye. A few people have told me they practiced that drill in school.
    For your dog, maybe that was a prediction that someone you knew was going to die, but hopefully it was something less devastating like flaking on a sport or musical instrument.
    Regarding water, maybe you were leading a very fast-paced life that you couldn’t control or struggled to keep up with.
    I remember someone told me to take the advice in your dream, though none of yours sound like there was any direct advice.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

